Annexure to Item No. 1 of Agenda of the Thirtieth Meeting of the Board of Governors to be held on 03rd January 2019

Minutes of Twenty Ninth Meeting of the IIT Hyderabad Board of Governors held on 2nd August 2018

The Twenty Ninth Meeting of the Board of Governors of the Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad was held on Thursday, the 02nd August 2018 in the Board Room of the Permanent Campus of the Institute located in Kandi, Sanga Reddy District.

The following were present:

Shri BVR Mohan Reddy, Chairman. Dr Prema Ramachandran, Member. Prof M Lakshmi Kantam, Member. Prof Anjan Kumar Giri, Member. Prof Ch Subrahmanyam, Member Prof UB Desai, Director. Shri V Venkat Rao, Acting Registrar (Representing Shri N Jayaram, Registrar and Secretary).

Leave of absence was granted to Dr Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, Smt Ranjeev R Acharya and Prof. Vinod Krishan.

At the outset, the Director, IITH introduced the two Senate nominated Members to the Board, viz. Prof Anjan Kumar Giri and Prof Ch Subrahmanyam. The Board welcomed the two Members. The Board put on record its appreciation and thanks to Prof. K V L Subramaniam for his contribution and services rendered to the Board of Governors during his tenure as a member of BoG.

Comments from MHRD on the Agenda : Comments from MHRD were received vide MHRD Letter No. F.No.11-8/2018-T.S.I dated 31st July 2018, received from Shri Kundan Nath, Under Secretary, MHRD and placed before the Board.

The Board noted the comments and deliberated at length. The decision on the Agenda Items were taken making sure the comments of MHRD were adhered to.

Item No.1: To consider Confirmation of the Minutes of the Twenty Eighth Meeting of the Board held on 27th April 2018.

The Board confirmed the Minutes as circulated.

Item No.2: To consider the Report of Actions Taken on the Minutes of the Twenty Eighth Meeting of the Board of Governors held on 27th April 2018.

The Board noted actions taken on Agenda items.

Item No.3: Report relating to Actions Taken by the Chairman, Board of Governors, from time to time since last meeting.

The Board noted the action taken.

Item No.4: To consider and approve conferment of Degrees of B.Tech., M.Sc., M.Tech., Executive M.Tech. in Data Sciences, M.Des., M.S., M.Phil. and Ph.D. Students.

Prof Ch Subrahmanyam, Member BoG and Dean Academic Program briefed the Board regarding various details of the Graduating Students of the Class of 2018 across all Programs viz. B.Tech., M.Sc., M.Tech., Executive M.Tech. in Data Sciences, M.Des., M.S., M.Phil. and Ph.D. Students.

The Board noted that the total number of Graduating Students of the Class of 2018 is 566, out of which the number of Ph.D. students graduating is 58, which is nearly 10% of 566 and is significant.

The Board considered and approved conferment of Degrees to the Graduating Students of the Class of 2018. The break-up is : B.Tech (208)., M.Sc.(59), M.Tech. (199), Executive M.Tech. in Data Sciences (18), M.Des.(17), M.Phil.(6), M.S.(1) and Ph.D.(58).

The Board expressed it's appreciation and happiness that the Chief Guest for the 7th Convocation will be the President to India.

Item No.5: Creation of Non-Faculty posts.

The Board noted that the Institute submitted proposal for creation of 53 nonfaculty posts, based on the student strength of about 2600. However, the Board observed that the student strength as on date is about 2550 and therefore approved for creation of 48 posts.

With this 48 additional posts, the total sanctioned non-faculty posts would become 281.

Item No.6: Tabling the Minutes of 11th Meeting of Building and Works Committee.

The Minutes of 11th Meeting of Building and Works Committee were placed before the Board.

Item No.7: Technical Sanction for Construction under JICA funding and approval of the Tender Document.

For Agenda Item 7, Dr.Sireesh Saride Dean planning was invited. Dr. Saride briefed the Board in detail regarding Package 3A for the Campus Development Works of IITH. Technical Sanction and approval of Tender Documents was sought for Pacakge 3A. Director and Dr. Saride mentioned about the detailed presentation regarding Package 3A that was made to FA, Mrs. Darshana Dabral, on 23rd July 2018. The Director also explained to the Board the detailed replies that were sent to the queries from FA as well as Additional Secretary Dr. S S Sandhu. The details of the replies are part of the minutes of the Finance Committee.

The Board noted that the 8th Finance Committee vide its Meeting held on 02.08.2018 had approved the following:-

- The Technical Sanction of the Detailed Estimate
- Inclusion of the Technology Research Park in the current Tender
- The Tender Documents

After detailed deliberations, the Board approved the following:

- The Technical Sanction of the Detailed Estimate
- Inclusion of the Technology Research Park in the current Tender
- The Tender Documents

Item No.8: HAG Scale.

The Board considered the placement of Prof K V L Subramaniam and Prof N Venkata Reddy in HAG Scale from the date of approval of Agenda Item by the Board. It was noted that both Prof. K V L Subramanium and Prof. N Venkat Reddy satisfy all conditions for being placed in HAG scale. Moreover, with the inclusion of Prof K V L Subramaniam and Prof Venkat Reddy in HAG scale, the total number of professors in the HAG scale will still be below 40%.

The Board approved placing of Prof. K V L Subramaniam and Prof. N Venkat Reddy in the HAG scale.

Item No.9: Any other item with the approval of the Chair.

With the approval of the Chair, the following two items were taken up :-

a. Completion of tenure of the Chairman of the Board and the Members:

With the permission of the Chairman, the Director briefed the Board that the tenure of the Shri Mohan Reddy as Chairman is up to 15th October 2018 and the Board may offer suggestions/recommendations to MHRD in this matter.

Shri Mohan Reddy, Chairman recused himself from the deliberations of the Board and left the meeting venue. Thereafter, the Board deliberated at length the very valuable services rendered by Shri Mohan Reddy. The Board placed on record the enormous amount of time and efforts spared by Shri Reddy to the matters pertaining to IITH despite his very busy schedule. Further, the Board also placed on record the very valuable suggestions made by Shri Reddy for inculcating entrepreneurship among students. The Board recommended that the esteemed MHRD may nominate Shri Mohan Reddy for one more term.

b. Approval for Expert Members for recruitment of Faculty & Non-Faculty :

The Board approved the list of Expert Members for recruitment of Faculty and Non-Faculty, as submitted.

c. Nomination of Prof UB Desai as a Member of the Board of Governors in the following institutes.

- (i) IISER, Thiruvananthapuram and
- (ii) Mahindra Ecole Centrale (MEC) an engineering institute at Bahadurpally, Hyderabad.

The Board approved Prof Desai taking up the membership of the Board of Governors on the above institutes.

The meeting ended with thanks to the Chair.